Amazing

Got a comment to make on this forum or the HaveTheKnowHow.com website? Then please let us know here
genghiskhen

Amazing

Post by genghiskhen »

I have been building HTPCs for a couple years now using Windows and MediaPortal. I finally decided to centralize my media and this guide was invaluable. I have been using UNIX for years, but I had never built a LINUX box or acted as administrator. Your guide got me started.

I ran into a bug formatting a 2TB drive that took me over an hour to research and resolve. When I partitioned my drive the cylinders did not line up and the warning said this would greatly affect my disk performance. I finally found instructions on how to manually create an offset and this fixed the problem. Of course those instructions are at home. This would be a nice thing to add to your guide. I can provide the instructions if that helps.

Thank you so much! I clicked on your advertising links.
Ian

Re: Amazing

Post by Ian »

Hi genghiskhen and welcome to the forum :thumbup:

Yeah, I've read about the issues some people have with Advanced Format Drives but never having hit the issue myself (despite having a whole bunch of 2TB drives in my server) I didn't feel comfortable adding a how-to that I'd not tried out myself. Everything on the site is tried and tested by yours truly so I can vouch for its accuracy (and I do update it as and when required). If you happen to have a link for a guide that you've followed, and had success with, then please feel free to post it here. :thumbup:

So, care to share your setup? What are you using for clients, the HTPCs? What software have you installed on your server? Apart from the drive formatting problem did you hit any other issues?

What made you decide to finally centralise everything?

Sorry for all the questions sir, but I enjoy reading about other people's setup and sharing ideas with folks. And if you're a unix veteran then maybe you can teach us all a thing or two ;)

Ian.
genghiskhen