Network Bragging.....

Here's the perfect place to discuss pretty much anything you like. Obviously the normal forum rules apply: no spam, be nice to people and most important of all, have fun!
Abysmal Craig

Network Bragging.....

Post by Abysmal Craig »

......Just to show off because I am genuinely proud of myself at this moment.

I always had problems with streaming media off my server and across my wireless network within my house as there were too many people doing too many things at once. Internet enabled TV's will be the killer of simple home networks!!! Anyways I thought it was time I decided to do something about it.

I recently decided to upgrade my home network in my house and considering Im a network engineer it was easy for me to get the things I needed. I recently acquired 5x 8-port Netgear switches, 2x 24-port 3com switches and a nice drum of fiber cable. With these materials I decided to set up a cabinet in my loft and run a fiber ring through out my house.

That was 3 weeks ago and today I have just terminated my final fiber cable and plugged it into the last switch on the network and the result is no network congestion at all :D :D :D :clap: :clap: :clap:

Id like to hear what other peoples networks are like :D
Case: Thermaltake Level 10 GT
Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD65 Intel Motherboard
Processor: OVERCLOCKED Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
RAM: 8GB Corsair DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Hard Drives: Intel SSD 60GB for O/S 2x 3.5TB WD for Data
Ian

Re: Network Bragging.....

Post by Ian »

You used fibre? Blimey, I'm impressed :clap: I don't think I've ever read of anyone else doing the same in a domestic environment. Ever.

Mine is all cat5e and by the sounds of things nowhere near as complicated as yours. I trust you're not using all 88 ports :wtf:

That is certainly something to feel chuffed about sir. Well done. Well done indeed :thumbup:

Ian.
Andy Horn
Knows their stuff

Post by Andy Horn »

Total sh*te compared to yours :!: