Ubuntu/VNC Issue

Discussion and Technical Support for general software applications and utilities including OS related issues.
gunplt

Ubuntu/VNC Issue

Post by gunplt »

Hello. Love the site! I am a nubie here and certainly to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I have been using Solaris for about 10 years at work (medical imaging OEM) and used SCO Unix for a couple of years before that in the military. I like the command line, but being new to Ubuntu am forced to use a GUI. Been wanting to setup a media server for years. Recently I picked up a Fujitsu Siemens Celsius R610 Workstation (Dual Xeon) leftover after an upgrade and decided to finally attempt the media server. Reviewed about 8 different sites and this one seemed exactly what I was looking for. Ubuntu 10.10 32 bit install was a breeze following the instructions on the site. Putty was simple enough (use it at work). But I have yet to be successful getting Tight or any VNC progi to connect to the VNC server. No indications of a problem prior to the "Failed to get server address (mediaserver). Did you type the host name correctly?" message. I called the server mediaserver as opposed to the author's MyMediaServer. Seems like the issue is something simple, like the VNC desktop is mediaserver:1 but Tight isn't sure of the host name. I'm not sure where to tell it which host to look on for the VNC server. Any help would be appreciated.
Ian

Re: Ubuntu/VNC Issue

Post by Ian »

Hi gunplt,

Thanks for your kind words. If you've been using linux variants for a few years then you could probably teach me a thing or two ;)

10.10 is quite buggy so you might want to consider using 10.04 before you get too far down the road with your media server. However, you should still be able to get VNC working.

Anyway, when you typed "vncserver -geometry 1280x1024 -depth 24" into a Putty session it should have come back with a message along the lines "New xxxxx desktop is mediaserver:1"