Tight VNC Problem

Discussion and Technical Support for general software applications and utilities including OS related issues.
Abysmal Craig

Tight VNC Problem

Post by Abysmal Craig »

Hi there, I am currently new to this ubuntu so please bear with me.

I followed your tut on creating a media server and everything was going fine until i reached the VNC part.

I am running Ubuntu 12.04 LTS and when I run tight VNC Viewer and try to connect to my server I just get Connection Failed!

My server name is - SKYNETSERVER and so Im typing in SKYNETSERVER:1

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

**EDIT - I also tried with the IP address of the server and getting the same response.
Case: Thermaltake Level 10 GT
Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD65 Intel Motherboard
Processor: OVERCLOCKED Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz
RAM: 8GB Corsair DDR3 @ 1866MHz
Hard Drives: Intel SSD 60GB for O/S 2x 3.5TB WD for Data
steve_batten

Re: Tight VNC Problem

Post by steve_batten »

What messages do you get on your linux box when you initiate the virtual session using "vncserver" - my assumption is you have actually started a session on the linux machine before you try connecting remotely.
Abysmal Craig

Post by Abysmal Craig »

I figured out what was the problem was.

Apparently Ubuntu can only see my NIC some of time and when it does it can only connect outside my network whenever it feels like it.

Im not sure what is causing the problem, as I am not changing any settings within my server itself, it just seems to lose connectivity sometimes after a reboot and sometimes it doesn't.

This has become a massive pain and I am just considering using windows home server which I rather I didn't to be perfectly honest.