VM Media Streaming

Discussion and Technical Support for general software applications and utilities including OS related issues.
SergeantBort

VM Media Streaming

Post by SergeantBort »

Okay, I have been poking around here looking for an answer but have not seen anything and google has not helped me at this time.

I have 12.04 server running, with 2 VM's (stable and beta, but have not gotten out of beta yet)
Server set up to bridge, all three with static IP's

I can get to the internet, I can SSH to all three machines. I have a Samba server installed on the main box, and can map and access that information across my network.

My issue arrises with streaming media from the VM.... No peice of equipment on my network, DLNA capable TV, Logitech Revue, or PS3, seem to notice it on my network as available media, my Windows 7 PC does not see it either.

I've tried MythTomb, miniDLNA, Serviio... Seviio has been my closest to success, but only see's when I have the service running on a windows PC on my network, and is not seeing any of the data on my VM Ubuntu media server...

I have a feeling it's a port, or bridge issue, but I have hit the brick wall here.. After only about 10 rebuilds of my main box (6 before I got to the KVM section of the guide) and then a couple afterwards, when I messed up the main set up for bridge and networking to get stable...

Any ideas or suggestions here... This is the only issue I've run into that no amount of reading and goggling seem's to be able to resolve..
Ian

Re: VM Media Streaming

Post by Ian »

Hi,

Have you tried the following?:

Try and ping a VM from your windows 7 machine
SSH onto one of the VMs and try and ping your windows 7 machine from the VM. Whilst on the VM also try and ping google (or some other site on the internet).

Do these all come back as good?

Sorry, if you've already tried these, just double-checking where you're at ;)

Ian.
SergeantBort

Post by SergeantBort »