Read Mail / CRON Jobs

Discussion and Technical Support for general software applications and utilities including OS related issues.
srb197

Read Mail / CRON Jobs

Post by srb197 »

Hi, i am new to Ubuntu Server, and followed the guide. 2 issues only so far:

1. VNC startup by CRON doesnt work. The error on reboot does not find it in /bin/sh ? It does run from Webmin / command line with the same command line. Any clues?

2. Setup the sending mail - which works, but i can no longer see "Read User Mail" in Webmin - which i think is my favoured way. Have removed Webmin and reinstalled but no luck. Also tried to remove sSMTP but this hasnt worked either. How can i restore to before i started this section in the guide?

Loved experimenting so far... hope to continue and help appreciated! thx :-)
Ian

Re: Read Mail / CRON Jobs

Post by Ian »

Hi there,

First off welcome to the forums and I'm pleased to see you're still enjoying the experience. Some people get to this stage and wish they'd never started :lol:

OK, I'm afraid I've not got any answers straight off, just some questions.

Re VNC, where are you seeing this error and what isn't found in /bin/sh? Are you referring to the little script you wrote to start VNC or are you referring to the script that comes with VNC itself that lives in /.vnc/xstartup?

Re your "Read User Mail" problem. I'm confused sir. No user mail is installed by default in Ubuntu Server and so you should have never seen the "Read User Mail" option in Webmin? Unless you installed something like Postfix or Sendmail beforehand?
What do you see in place of where it used to display "Read User Mail" previously? Does Webmin display something like "no supported mail servers are detected" or something else?

Ian.
srb197

Post by srb197 »

Ian, thanks for the reply, i probably should have been more clear! :-)