Putty and VNC

Discussion and Technical Support for general software applications and utilities including OS related issues.
Peter James

Putty and VNC

Post by Peter James »

Hi

I am completely new to Linux but I have been thinking about dipping my toe in the water for some time, I am familiar with windows and dos so how hard can Ubuntu be? I downloaded 12.04 and installed it as OPENSSH In fact I followed the really useful guide provided by this website. My problems started when I installed putty no matter what I do it will not connect to the server. this didnt deter me I continued with the guide working directly on the server. I installed VNCserver and made the programing changes and the ubuntu boots into a desktop environment, I can see my windows network on the ubuntu server but cant see the ubuntu server on my windows network (I can ping the ubuntu server from the command prompt in windows no problem) but when I use VNC server the server refuses connection putty just fails to connect. I wonder if its something to do with my Virgin Media Hub. I used to have a nice Netgear router until my cable modem failed and the virgin media man only had hubs on board. I searched the forum but cant see a similar problem to mine.

Thanks in advance

Pete
Ian

Re: Putty and VNC

Post by Ian »

Hi there,

Are you running any anti-virus/firewall software on your PC? The blockage might be there. The standard windows firewall should have no issue but are you running Norton or similar? By default, VNC uses TCP port 5900 so you'd need to add this to the 'exception' list in the firewall on your windows desktop. Does
this guide help?.

Putty by default uses port 22.

Any help?

Ian.
Peter James

Post by Peter James »

Ian wrote:Hi there,