Newbie question

kwatson703

Newbie question

Post by kwatson703 »

Hi Ian,

Fantastic tutorial! I can't wait to build mine. I have a few very rudimentary questions before I start, though. I have also read about VortexBox, XBMC, MythTV, and Squeezebox. Will your media server do everything those offer to do, or is it compatible? In other words, do I need to get one or more of those in addition to building this NAS? I'm not new to Linux, but I'm new to NAS and the terms "backend," "frontend," etc. Do you configure your NAS as both frontend and backend? Does it automatically rip media? Can your system provide a nice menu on network-aware TVs?

My goal is to build a media server that can serve up all my music and video to any computer and TV in the house. I have two network-aware LG flat screen TVs and three computers. This will include ripping the CDs and DVDs.

BTW, my main desktop is Linux Mint Debian, running on a ThinkPad Edge E420s (quad Intel i5-2410M CPU) with 8GB RAM, and I dual-boot Windows 7 Professional. I plan to make this server accessible from both the Linux and Windows systems for flexibility.

Thanks for providing such great information.
Ian

Re: Newbie question

Post by Ian »

Hi there,

My guide focuses mainly on building a headless server (ie. the backend). It has no pretty front-end, and no keyboard or mouse attached, the idea being that you can hide the server away from your "entertainment area" and use various "clients" (front-ends) to interact with it over your network. These front-ends can be anything from a web browser on another computer to something like a media streamer which uses a front-end built into the streamer. So, taking your Squeezebox for example, you could use a smartphone, a squeezebox controller or a web browser as the front-end to control your music stored on your server.