HOME NETWORK FOR A NEW BUILD

glitglit

HOME NETWORK FOR A NEW BUILD

Post by glitglit »

Hey, Hows things? Hope you had a good Christmas and Happy New Year!!

I was hoping you could give me should basic advice for setting up a home network for my new build that I will be starting next year. I don’t want anything complicated just a basic system as I am a novice in this area. I have listed below the basic requirements if you can help with some advice on components and what I need.

From the start:
1. BT Master phone socket will be connected to a BT Openreach DSL box via the RJ11 connection. Then the RJ45 Ethernet cable will connect the BT DSL box to the BT Wireless router (into the the BT Infinity inlet port).
Both boxes will be located in a small server room under the stairs
2. I then want to have my laptop hardwired in another room using RJ45 Ethernet cable. Do I need to get the Ethernet Cat 5e cable taken from the wireless router through the walls to a RJ45 faceplate? Then from the faceplate to the laptop using another RJ45 cable?
3. I would also like to have at least one RJ45 faceplate in each bedroom for internet access or streaming TV. Does this mean that we need to run the Cat 5e from each port in the wireless router into the walls up to each bedroom and terminate at the RJ45 faceplate in each room.
The wireless router only has four outlets, therefore do I need a patch panel? If so which type/make/model? How do we connect the wireless router to the patch panel? Is this simply one Cat 5e cable to the patch panel to allow us to utilise the multiple outlets on a patch panel.
4. Where there is to be a TV in the main livingroom what faceplate do I need here to allow for streaming online etc. I would like to connect the TV (ie hardwired) to give a fast connection if streaming TV online rather than using wireless. Do I need to convert HDMI to Ethernet? If so please explain.