The "introduce yourself" thread

pete66

The "introduce yourself" thread

Post by pete66 »

Hi guys,

Being inherently nosey I’m interested in what sort of thing you use your server for so thought I’d start a thread! :D

What spec is your kit, ram, cpu storage capacity etc.
What software are you running now?
What do you use your server for and what plans do you have for the future?

I’ll start off……………..

Case: Antec Three Hundred
Motherboard: Motherboard GA-P55A-UD4P.
Processor: Intel Core i5 750 Processor 2.66 GHz
Memory: Corsair 4GB
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB for OS
2 * 2TB SAMSUNG HD204UI for movies and music

Running Ubuntu (obviously). Squeezebox server. PS3 Media Server serving my 2 PS3 consoles

Hope one day to use it to run CCTV

Been using linux for just over 6 months. Total novice before I came across the havetheknow website. Learning quickly.

Cheers,

Pete

EDIT: Server specs now added to sig :mrgreen:
Hard Drives: Western Digital Caviar Black 2 TB for OS. 2 * 2TB SAMSUNG HD204UI for movies and music
Speccy

Re: The "introduce yourself" thread

Post by Speccy »

good idea for a thread Pete!
Currently using an old desktop computer I had lying around gathering dust. When I've got the hang of things Ill invest in a proper server :twisted:
Been using ubuntu for a couple of weeks now. Still getting everything set up. In the future I'll be using it for movies, plus hope to get mythtv running on it. Have read that it can be a "challenge" getting it running :crazy:
Currently listening to my music on it :wave:
smithy

Post by smithy »

Hi guys,

I'm new here too. Looks like this forum has only been running for a couple of weeks so we're all new?

Using a custom built atom-based rig with a 2TB internal hard drive. Plus using a couple of external usb attached drives that I had already. Used to be attached to my desktop but decided on something a bit less power-hungry.